About the Foundation

Organized in 1974, the mission of the McCook College Foundation is to promote and enhance the educational opportunities offered by McCook Community College, Nebraska's first Junior College founded in 1926. The Foundation's assets and activities are managed by 21 volunteer Board Directors recruited from Red Willow, Frontier, Hitchcock, Dundy, Chase, and Hayes counties in Southwest Nebraska.

The Foundation believes that their founding philosophy to support lifelong learning opportunities contributes to the success of the individual, our communities, and our nation. The Foundation's core categories of support are Student Financial Aid; Campus Enhancements and Programs; and Student and Community Services. The Foundation is dedicated to: outreach and recruitment of students; ongoing development and expansion of academic and vocational programs; scholarships and loans for full and part-time students; support for experienced and involved faculty; innovative instruction in the classroom; distance and on-line learning opportunities; adequate, well-maintained facilities and equipment; and continuous sponsorship of campus activities and programs.

Board of Directors and Foundation Staff

The Foundation Board of Directors represents business, industry, agriculture, education, community interests and many are graduates of McCook Community College.  Directors are nominated and elected for a three-year term, and serve on at least one of five committees:  Executive; Finance and Investment; Fund Development; Student Financial Aid; and Student and Community Services.  Current Directors include:

Board Directors

Lynda Baumbach
Indianola, NE

Matt Broz
Hayes, Center, NE

Ken Foster
McCook, NE

Alan Garey
Curtis, NE

Pam Gaston - Vice-President
McCook, NE

Sue Hagemann
Culbertson, NE

Jim Kent
Benkelman, NE

Mike Kuhlen
McCook, NE

Angela Lewis
Imperial, NE

Chad Meyer - Treasurer
McCook, NE

Colleen Olson
McCook, NE

John Palic
McCook, NE

Mary Parker - Secretary
Benkelman, NE

Travor Premer
McCook, NE

Cathy Upton
Trenton, NE

Matt Wiemers
McCook, NE

Paul Wood - President
McCook, NE

McCook College Emeritas Board Directors

Lloyd Benjamin
McCook, NE

Roland Anderjaska
Hayes Center, NE

J.T. Harris
Lincoln, NE

Walt Sehnert
McCook, NE

Norma Stevens
McCook, NE

Dallas Watkins
Benkelman, NE

Foundation Staff

Janet Werkmeister
Director of Administration

The McCook College Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization under the Internal Revenue Service Code and all donations are tax deductible. The Foundation's Identification Number is 47-6089800.